Top Cybersecurity Certifications

  • by

Cybersecurity is becoming increasingly crucial for businesses in every sector, and it is especially vital for small- to medium-sized organizations. Cyberattacks continue to become a major problem in the United States and the rest of the globe, often times resulting in customer information being stolen.

Because of this increased risk, cybersecurity certifications are an important tool to prepare against the attacks. The high demand for cybersecurity skills means a top cybersecurity certification will boost one’s resumé.

With so many cybersecurity certifications to choose from, let’s take a look at the top ones on the market:

1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) course was developed in order to get you thinking like a hacker, which is crucial to stop one.

The class covers various topics and tools such as hacking technologies that are used against cloud computing technology, mobile platforms and operating systems. It also covers the latest malware and viruses, as well as information security laws and standards.

One of the fundamental aspects of the course is real-time scenarios, where you are exposed to various ways in which hackers breach networks and steal information. You will also learn how to scan, test, hack, and protect systems.

The CEH certification is best for security officers, auditors, security professionals, site administrators, and those with interest in network infrastructure security.

2. Certified Information System Security Professional (CISSP)

Another top certification is the Certified Information System Security Professional (CISSP), which is more aimed at general cybersecurity knowledge. The CISSP is often a requirement for those working on network security in a company.

The course covers areas like access control cryptography, telecommunications and networking, and the certificate provides knowledge for a variety of setups. The CISSP is highly regarded in the realm of cybersecurity certifications, and the exam requires three to five years of experience.

The CISSP is especially useful for those in a Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) role, as well as analysts, system engineers, consultants and IT security managers.

3. CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ is another top base-level certification for IT professionals. It only requires two years of experience to complete, and it is considered a general cybersecurity certification since it is also useful for a variety of setups.

The ComptTIA Security+ covers topics like network attack strategies and defenses, effective security policies, network- and host-based security practices, disaster recovery and encryption standards and products.

This certification is useful for those looking to become more knowledgeable in basic IT security. It applies to all job roles, especially developers, PC support analysts, and accounting managers. The U.S. Department of Defense requires it for all employees.

4. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The Certified Information Security Manager Certification (CISM) is considered one of the best cybersecurity courses on the market. It requires at least five years of experience.

The CISM is management-focused, and it covers four specific topics:

  • Information security program development and management
  • Information security management
  • Information security incident management
  • Information risk management and compliance

The CISM is significantly more rigorous than others, but it is useful for CISO’s and other IT professionals.

5. NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF)

 The NIST Cybersecurity Framework was built in 2014, and by 2015, 30 percent or U.S. organizations were using it. The certifications in the NCSF provide the skills to design, build, test and manage cybersecurity programs with the framework.

The two certifications within the NCSF are:

  • NCSF Foundation Certification: This program is aimed at executives, business professionals and IT professionals looking for a basic grasp on NCSF. It is specifically used to establish common NCSF vocabulary across a company.


  • NCSF Practitioner Certification: This program is for designing and building comprehensive cybersecurity programs, and it teaches you how to minimize risks and protect critical assets through a business-focused cybersecurity risk management program.

6. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The CISA certification is aimed at information auditing, and it provides IT professionals with the knowledge needed to manage vulnerabilities in an enterprise.

CISA requires five years of experience to register, and it covers topics such as auditing information systems, IT management/governance and information asset protection.

CISA is globally recognized and required for high-level IS audit, assurance and control positions.

7. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

The CCSP certification provides IT professionals with hands-on experience, which will lead to efficiency in cloud security architecture, design, operations and services. It is specifically targeted at security professionals with experience in information technology, IT architecture, governance, cloud and web security engineering.

CCSP, which also requires a minimum of five years of experience, covers various topics such as cloud architecture and design concepts, cloud data security, cloud operations, infrastructure security and compliance.

It is especially useful for systems engineers, security managers, security administrators and enterprise architects.

8. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Security 

The CCNA provides the specific knowledge and hands-on skills needed to protect Cisco networks, so it is valuable for organizations deploying Cisco technology. It is an associate-level certification that helps you recognize threats in a Cisco network, as well as develop effective security infrastructure.

It is especially valuable for network security specialists, network support engineers and security administrators.

9. Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)

 The CHFI is an advanced certification aimed at forensic network security investigators. It provides the skills needed to gather evidence and prosecute in court.

CHFI covers topics such as incident response and forensics, information recovery, technical examination and analysis, and computer-based evidence reporting.

With the increase in cyber threats in every sector, there should be a major push to obtain these top cybersecurity certifications. There are many great options on the market, for every level of an organization. Each one provides the specific skills needed to address cybersecurity issues, and they provide businesses with the opportunity to prepare their IT staff for the ever-evolving digital environment.

The post Top Cybersecurity Certifications appeared first on Unite.AI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *